
ADDENDUM TO SANDY CITY 
EMPLOYMENT APPLICATION FORM 

AFor Police Officer Applicants Only@ 
 
 
 
Name:                                                                                    
 
 
AUTOMATIC DISQUALIFIERS 
 
A “Yes” answer in this section is an automatic disqualifier from consideration for any position in the 
Sandy Police Department based on Sandy Police Department Policy and Utah State Law; your 
application will not be reviewed.  These questions include any juvenile charges or charges which 
may have been sealed or expunged. 
 
(  ) Yes    (  ) No Any adult conviction of a felony crime? 
 
(  ) Yes    (  ) No Prohibited from possessing a dangerous weapon under Utah Code or Federal law? 
 
(  ) Yes    (  ) No Conviction of any Class A misdemeanor within three years prior to application or   
   Class B misdemeanor within two years prior to application? 
 
(  ) Yes    (  ) No Two or more D.U.I. convictions? 
 
(  ) Yes    (  ) No Three or more moving traffic citations within three years prior to application? 
 
(  ) Yes    (  ) No Two or more “at fault” traffic collisions within two years prior to application? 
 
(  ) Yes    (  ) No Any driver’s license suspension/revocation within two years of application? 
 
(  ) Yes    (  ) No Used/experimented with marijuana within two years of application? 
 
(  ) Yes    (  ) No Used/experimented with any other illegal drugs listed in Utah Code, including but   

not limited to: Cocaine, Heroin, LSD, Hashish, Mescaline, PCP, Opium, Peyote, 
Methamphetamine, Barbiturates, Methadone and Mushrooms, within five years prior to 
application?   
 

(  ) Yes    (  ) No Unlawful use/purchase of a schedule I or II prescription medication within five 
years prior to application? 

 
(  ) Yes    (  ) No Unlawful use/purchase of a schedule III – V prescription medication within two 
   years prior to application?  
 
(  ) Yes    (  ) No Being Dismissed from the armed services under dishonorable conditions? 
 
 
 
 
 



When answering questions throughout the selection process, it is extremely important for you to be 
honest and accurate.  Although your past behavior may or may not disqualify you, dishonesty will.  
Integrity is an essential attribute for a Police Department employee and it is imperative that you take the 
time to complete all forms in the hiring process thoroughly. Answer all questions; if a question does not 
apply, write N/A in the space provided. 
  
 

1) A Police Officer applicant must be at least 20 1/2 years of age at time of application.  Are you at 
least 20 1/2years of age? 
(  ) Yes 
(  )  No 
 
 

2) Are you a high school graduate, or have you passed the General Education Development (GED) 
Test indicating high school graduation level? 
(  )  Yes 
(  )  No 
 
 

3) Are you a U.S. Citizen? 
(  )  Yes 
(  )  No 
 
 

4) Do you possess a valid driver’s license? 
(  )  Yes 
(  )  No 
 
 

5) Are you P.O.S.T. certified in the State of Utah?  
(  )  Yes 
(  )  No 
 
 

6) If you answered “yes” to Question 5, please list level and date of certification (for example: 
Special Functions Officer on December 1, 2014 or Law Enforcement Officer on December 1, 
2014). 
• If you answered “no” to Question 5, please answer “Not Applicable.” 

 
 
 
 
 
 

7) Have you tested with the Sandy Police Department within the prior two years prior to this 
application? 
(  )  Yes 
(  )  No 
 



8) If you answered “yes” to Question 7, please list when you applied and what phase of testing you 
completed. 
• If you answered “no” to Question 7, please answer “Not Applicable.” 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

9) I understand that the information in this form is required of all persons seeking employment as a 
Police Officer.  I understand that a thorough investigation will be made of my background.  I 
hereby certify that I have personally completed each question and that all statements are true and 
complete.  I understand that any omission or misstatement of fact may be considered deliberate 
falsification, which will subject me to disqualification or, if discovered after my employment, to 
immediate termination.   
 
By typing your full name below, you certify that your answers are true and complete. 
 
 
____________________________________ 
 
 

Date application submitted: ________________________ 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Special Notice To Police Officer / Auxiliary Police Officer 
 
Applicants for the Sandy City Police Department must pass the written standard test (N.P.O.S.T.) now 
required for acceptance to Utah Peace Officers Standard and Training (POST). Acceptable score for 
Sandy City is 80 percent. Written test scores will be used to screen for Police Officer/Auxiliary Officer 
positions with Sandy City. 

 
 
 
All Applicants will be required to submit the following documents at the time of application.   
DO NOT ADD ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTS AND CERTIFICATES TO YOUR PACKET:  
 
G Completed Sandy City Application for Employment  
G Sandy City Police Department addendum for Police Officer 
G Current Resume 
G Current Utah P.O.S.T. Certificate  OR 
G Original Test score from Peace Officer P.O.S.T. standard entrance examination 

(min. Score of 80%) or a receipt showing the P.O.S.T. entrance examination was 
taken and then providing the test results to the police department administrative 
sergeant within two weeks after submitting the application.  

 
Reminder: The listed testing centers require a two-week period to score P.O.S.T. examinations.  
 
Out of State Candidates: Must come to Utah to take the N.P.O.S.T. at one of the test sites and turn in 
their scores.  (Locations listed on next page)  
 
 
Sandy City only accepts applications during an advertised testing process. After initial application, you 
will be notified by e-mail of how the testing process will continue.   You will not receive any additional 
information until after a job recruitment has officially closed or the review of your application if the 
posting is listed open until filled.    
 
Eligibility to re-test in hiring process: 
Candidates not qualifying during the written, typing, or physical testing may reapply and test for a position after a 
six month period from the original job posting date. 
 
Candidates not passing any other phase of testing, excluding the psychological, may reapply and test for 
a position after a one year period from the original job posting date.   
 
Candidates not passing the psychological assessment will not be allowed to re-take the psychological 
test for a minimum two year time period from the original job posting date. This would disqualify the 
applicant from any testing processes during the same time period. 
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The N.P.O.S.T. test is administered at the following locations on an on-going basis: 
 
Salt Lake Community College School Of 
Applied Technology Testing Center 
1575 South State W-124 
Salt Lake City, UT 84115 
Phone: (801) 957-3257 Automated Service 
Fax: (801) 957-3315 
Testing: First Come First Served Basis (19 spots 
for testing) 
Website: www.slcc.edu/sat/testing-
services/post.aspx  
 
Utah Valley University 
800 West 1200 South 
Orem, UT 84058 
Phone: (801) 863-8269 
Fax: (801) 764-7076 
Testing: Contact testing center for an 
appointment. 
 
Weber State University Testing Center 
1112 University Circle 
Ogden, UT 84408 
Phone: (801) 626-6803 
Fax: (801) 6267812 
Testing: Contact testing center for an 
appointment. 
 
College Of Eastern Utah – San Juan Campus 
639 West 100 South 
Blanding, UT 84511 
Phone: (435) 678-2201 Ext. 171 
Fax: (435) 678-2220 
Testing: Contact testing center for an 
appointment. 
 
Southern Utah University 
351 West Center Street #169 
Cedar City, UT 84720 
Phone: (435) 586-5419 
Fax: (435) 865-8055 
Testing: Contact testing center for an 
appointment. 
 
 

Bridgerland Applied Technology Center 
1301 North 600 West 
Logan, UT 84321 
Phone: (435) 750-3188 
Fax: (435) 750-3046 
Testing: Contact testing center for an 
appointment. 
 
Dixie College Admissions Testing Center 
225 South 700 East 
St. George, UT 84770 
Phone: (435) 652-7692 
Fax: (435) 656-4016 
Testing: Contact testing center for an 
appointment. 
 
 
College of Eastern Utah Testing Center 
451 East 400 North 
Price, UT 84501 
Phone: (435) 637-2120, Ext 5325 
Fax: (435) 613-5112 
Testing: Contact testing center for an 
appointment 
 
 
Davis Applied Technology Center 
550 East 300 South 
Kaysville, UT 84037 
Phone: (801) 593-2361 or 593-2336 
Testing: Contact testing center for an 
appointment 
 
 
Uintah Basin Applied Technology Center 
1100 E. Lagoon Street (124-5) 
Roosevelt, UT 84066 
Phone: (435) 722-4523 
Fax: (435) 722-5804 
Testing: Contact testing center for an 
appointment 
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SANDY CITY DEPARTMENT APPLICANT INFORMATION SHEET 
 
This information sheet is intended to guide you in the application, screening and hiring process of the 
Sandy City Police Department for the positions of Police Officer and Auxiliary Officer. 
 
Utah State Statutes require a Peace Officer must be Acertified@ by P.O.S.T. prior to exercising peace 
officer powers.  Before being accepted to a training program for the purpose of achieving that 
certification, an applicant must: 
 

$ Be a United States Citizen. 
$ Be at least 21 years old at the time of appointment as a peace officer. 
$ Not have been convicted of a crime for which the applicant could have been punished by 

imprisonment in the penitentiary of this state or another state. 
$ Not have been convicted of an offense involving dishonesty, unlawful sexual conduct, 

physical conduct, physical violence, or domestic violence.  
$ Not have been convicted of an offense involving the unlawful use, sale, or possession of 

a controlled substance within the last 5 years. 
$ Be a high school graduate or furnish evidence of equivalent achievement. 
$ Must demonstrate good moral character as determined by a background investigation. 
$ Be free of physical, emotional, or mental conditions that might affect adversely the 

performance of duty as a peace officer. 
 
Application and Screening Process 
 
Note: All applicants become equals at the start of the next phase 
 
Phase 1 Application 
 

The Sandy City Police Department accepts applications from all candidates who meet the 
minimum qualification for employment during each testing process.  All interested 
applicants must submit (1) a Sandy City application, (2) Police Addendum (attached), (3) 
a current resume and, and (4) a test score from Peace Officer (POST) standard entrance 
examination (minimum score for Sandy City of 80%). 

 
Applicants will be invited to test based on a review of the application and resume. 
Specifically, we will evaluate your addendum for automatic disqualifiers, for this 
position.  Additionally, we will evaluate your education and training, work history, and 
law enforcement related experience.  Sandy City Police Department may give selection 
preference for college, business or trade school attendance and prior police officer 
experience and/or certification.  Ability to understand and follow verbal and written 
instructions along with the ability to communicate in writing by completed all hiring 
forms in a thorough, legible and professional manner. 
 

Phase 2 Initial Testing Day – 3 parts 
 
Written test- All applicants must complete the written standard test presented by the Sandy Police 

Department.  All applicants who achieve above a minimum score will move on to the 
next testing portion. 

 
 

(This page is informational only; please do not submit with application) 



Typing test- All applicants will be required to take a typing test in which they must be able to type 30 
words per minute.  This test will be done in the presence of Sandy Police proctors. 

 
Physical test-    All applicants must be able to pass the P.O.S.T. physical standards at the P.O.S.T. entry 

level requirement. 
• Vertical jump – 15 inches  
• 300 meter run – 70 seconds 
• 12 mile run – 15:37 
• push-ups – 16 continuous with no time limit 
• Sit-ups – 25 in one minute.   

 
Only applicants passing all tests will move forward in the testing process.  
 
 
 Phase 3 Oral Board 
 

Based on testing you may be scheduled for an oral board.   The selection board will 
conduct an interview with each applicant to assess which applicants will best complement 
the goals and philosophy of the Department. 

 
 
Phase 4 Initial Screening of Personal History Statement 
  Applicants will complete a Personal History Statement.  A preliminary screening 

of the Personal History Statement will be done to ensure applicant meets qualification 
standards.   

 
 
Phase 5  Background Investigation 
 

When a position becomes available and prior to offering a position, police investigators 
will conduct a thorough investigation on the top applicants. 

 
 
 Psychological Evaluation  

 
Assuming you have been successful in all previous stages, you will take a psychological 
test which will take approximately 4-6 hours.  You will then be scheduled for an 
assessment by a licensed psychologist. Note: All psychological examination results will 
be valid for two years from the date of testing. 

 
   
 Phase 6 Pre-employment Polygraph 
 

You will be requested to take a pre-employment polygraph or CVSA test. 
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Phase 7 Chief=s Interview 

The Chief of Police will conduct an interview with each applicant as a final determination 
in offering a position.  All final hiring decisions are made by the Chief of Police 
following a recommendation of the selection committee. 

Phase 8 Job Offer/Medical Assessment/Drug Screening 

Each new employee will be given a physical assessment and a drug screening by the 
City=s provider.  They will also attend new employee orientation. 

Phase 9 Police Academy 

Those new officers not currently state certified as peace officers will be enrolled in the 
State=s Academy at the first available time.  The first day of employment may be 
contingent on that enrollment. 

Phase 10 Field Training 

Newly hired officers will go through a 19 week field training and evaluation under the 
direct supervision of field training officers.  

Phase 11 Probation 

Each new officer will be in a probationary status for a period to be determined at the 
completion of the field training and based upon that officer=s performance.  This is 
generally one year from date of hire. 

A complete list of essential functions and minimum requirements of the position may be obtained from the Human 
Resources Office. Sandy City will provide reasonable accommodations for any applicant during the examination and 
selection process. If you have special needs, please call (801) 568-7151. Sandy City does not discriminate on the 
basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, sexual orientation, gender identity, genetics, 
protected veteran's status or any other class protected by applicable federal, state and local employment law. 
Sandy City is a drug-free workplace and an Equal Opportunity Employer. If you have any questions at any phase of 
the process, please contact the Human Resources Office.
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Para information en espanol, visite www.ftc.gov/credit o escribe a la FTC Consumer Response 
Center, From 130-A 600 Pennsylvania Ave. N.W., Washington, D.C. 20580 
 

FCRA – Summary of Rights 
 
A Summary of Your Rights Under the Fair Credit Reporting Act 
The federal Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) promotes the accuracy, fairness, and privacy of 
information in the files of consumer reporting agencies. There are many types of consumer 
reporting agencies, including credit bureaus and specialty agencies (such as agencies that sell 
information about check writing histories, medical records, and rental history records). Here is a 
summary of your major rights under the FCRA. For more information, including information 
about additional rights, go to www.ftc.gov/credit or write to: Consumer Response Center, 
Room 130-A, Federal Trade Commission, 600 Pennsylvania Ave. N.W., Washington, D.C. 
20580. 
 

• You must be told if information in your file has been used against you. Anyone who 
uses a credit report or another type of consumer report to deny your application for credit, 
insurance, or employment – or to take another adverse action against you – must tell you, 
and must give you the name, address, and phone number of the agency that provided the 
information. 
 

• You have the right to know what is in your file. You may request and obtain all the 
information about you in the files of a consumer reporting agency (your “file 
disclosure”).  You will be required to provide proper identification, which may include 
your Social Security number. In many cases, the disclosure will be free. You are entitled 
to a free file disclosure if: 

o a person has taken adverse action against you because of information in your 
credit report; 

o you are the victim of identity theft and place a fraud alert in your file; 
o your file contains inaccurate information as a result of fraud; 
o you are on public assistance; 
o you are unemployed but expect to apply for employment within 60 days. 

 
In addition, by September 2005 all consumers will be entitled to one free disclosure every 
12 months upon request from each nationwide credit bureau and from nationwide 
specialty consumer reporting agencies. See www.ftc.gov/credit for additional 
information. 

 
• You have the right to ask for a credit score. Credit scores are numerical summaries of 

your credit-worthiness based on information from credit bureaus. You may request a 
credit score from consumer reporting agencies that create scores or distribute scores used 
in residential real property loans, but you will have to pay for it. In some mortgage 
transactions, you will receive credit score information for free from the mortgage lender. 
 
 

(This page is informational only; please do not submit with application) 

http://www.ftc.gov/credit


• You have the right to dispute incomplete or inaccurate information. If you identify 
information in your file that is incomplete or inaccurate, and report it to the consumer 
reporting agency, the agency must investigate unless your dispute is frivolous. See 
www.ftc.gov/credit for an explanation of dispute procedures. 
 

• Consumer reporting agencies must correct or delete inaccurate, incomplete, or 
unverifiable information. Inaccurate, incomplete or unverifiable information must be 
removed or corrected, usually within 30 days. However, a consumer reporting agency 
may continue to report information it has verified as accurate. 

 
• Consumer reporting agencies may not report outdated negative information. In most 

cases, a consumer reporting agency may not report negative information that is more than 
seven years old, or bankruptcies that are more than 10 years old. 

 
• Access to your file is limited. A consumer reporting agency may provide information 

about you only to people with a valid need -- usually to consider an application with a 
creditor, insurer, employer, landlord, or other business. The FCRA specifies those with a 
valid need for access. 

 
• You must give your consent for reports to be provided to employers. A consumer 

reporting agency may not give out information about you to your employer, or a potential 
employer, without your written consent given to the employer. Written consent generally 
is not required in the trucking industry. For more information, go to www.ftc.gov/credit. 

 
• You may limit “prescreened” offers of credit and insurance you get based on 

information in your credit report. Unsolicited “prescreened” offers for credit and 
insurance must include a toll-free phone number you can call if you choose to remove 
your name and address from the lists these offers are based on. You may opt-out with the 
nationwide credit bureaus at 1-888-5-OPTOUT (1-888-567-8688). 

 
• You may seek damages from violators. If a consumer reporting agency, or, in some 

cases, a user of consumer reports or a furnisher of information to a consumer reporting 
agency violates the FCRA, you may be able to sue in state or federal court. 

 
• Identity theft victims and active duty military personnel have additional rights. For 

more information, visit www.ftc.gov/credit. 
 
 
 
States may enforce the FCRA and many states have their own consumer reporting laws. In 
some cases, you may have more rights under state law. For more information, contact your 
state or local consumer protection agency or your state Attorney General. Federal 
enforcers are: 
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TYPE OF BUSINESS CONTACT: 
Consumer reporting agencies, creditors and  Federal Trade Commission: Consumer Response Center -  

  others not listed below FCRA Washington, DC 20580 1-877-382-4357 

National banks, federal branches/agencies of foreign banks Office of the Comptroller of the Currency 

(word "National" or initials "N.A." appear in or after bank's name) Compliance Management, Mail Stop 6-6 

  Washington, DC 20219      800-613-6743 

Federal Reserve System member banks (except national banks, Federal Reserve Consumer Help (FRCH) 

and federal branches/agencies of foreign banks) P O Box 1200   Minneapolis, MN 55480 

  Telephone: 888-851-1920 

  Website Address: www.federalreserveconsumerhelp.gov 

  Email Address: ConsumerHelp@FederalReserve.gov 

Savings associations and federally chartered savings banks Office of Thrift Supervision 

(word "Federal" or initials "F.S.B." appear in federal  Consumer Complaints 

institution's name) Washington, DC 20552 800-842-6929 

Federal credit unions (words "Federal Credit Union"  National Credit Union Administration 

appear in institution's name) 1775 Duke Street 

  Alexandria, VA 22314 703-519-4600 

State-chartered banks that are not members of Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation 

 the Federal Reserve System Consumer Response Center, 2345 Grand Avenue, Suite 100 

  Kansas City, Missouri 64108-2638 1-877-275-3342 

Air, surface, or rail common carriers regulated by former Civil Department of Transportation , Office of Financial Management 

Aeronautics Board or Interstate Commerce Commission Washington, DC 20590 202-366-1306 

Activities subject to the Packers and Stockyards Act, 1921 Department of Agriculture 

  Office of Deputy Administrator - GIPSA 

  Washington, DC 20250 202-720-7051 
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